top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTJ TEAM

Moments (previous blog piece)

Moments

By Mckenna McKrell

7/24/2019


I seem to spend my whole life wishing away the gifts I’ve been handed. We all do it-look at what we have now, see what’s coming, and simply waste away the in between rushing to get to what’s next. I often wish for a day to come. I wait and hope and waste away the time until the rightful moment comes and passes, and I begin looking for what is coming next. A birthday, holiday, trip, special occasion. Sometimes I wonder how many happy moments I recall come from significant days, when truly I spend most of my life in the ordinary.


Sometimes I wish I had learned to read between the lines of life. You sit back and watch as each sentence passes, but you forget to look for the deeper meaning that comes from the small things, and everyday occurrences of life. Sometimes it’s simple days that bring about a culmination of an event. As a whole, and myself as an individual, we forget that every moment has the potential to fit the mold of what we consider happy. It’s simply about ignoring the yearning of perfection and taking the day we’ve been given and making it something meaningful.


As my summer break began last week, I started thinking about the many days ahead of me. Now, as the break is just beginning it seems that any given day is disposable-there are so many, why make an effort to make everyone extraordinary? Shouldn’t I be able to sleep all day, and watch TV? I’ve come to learn this lesson though, you should strive to make every day worth wishing for, worth waiting for. As people, as teens, many of us have the freedom and ability to go make our time worth something. To go help others or make memories with an old friend. Sometimes the best moments come from the spontaneous, things that no one planned for. This idea of living life to fullest is simply the idea that risks, though ridden with consequence may not always be a bad thing.


I recently planned a golf outing with some old friends, but that morning I decided to show up a little early to their houses for pick up and we enjoyed a few extra hours of time together. It was simple, unplanned, but in the end,  I put aside logistics and enjoyed myself. As I’m sitting here writing this, I’m wishing I could go back to that day, a day worth wishing for.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Day at Dachau (previous blog piece)

A Day at Dachau By: B. F. Harvey This past summer, I was on tour in Eastern Europe, the continent of darkness, as referred to by the Greeks. And there were many days spent exploring, reinventing, and

bottom of page