top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTJ TEAM

Interview with Photographer & Filmmaker, Lena Song!


My name is Lena Song and I’m a photographer and filmmaker from Atlanta. My hobbies include thrifting, styling, graphic design, and organizing events.


Interview by Daania Sharifi


Start off by introducing yourself to the audience.


Hi My name is Lena and I’m a 16 year old, Atlanta based photographer and filmmaker.


How did you first get into photography? What introduced you/how were you introduced to it?


I first got into photography with a canon digital point and shoot that was my parents old camera. They gave it to me when I was around seven and since have always loved photography. In 2016 I got my first DSLR for Christmas and started shooting mostly landscapes and whenever we’d go on vacation. I stated getting more serious about photography in 2018 when I had my first photoshoot for Valentines Day. I shot my first portraits of my friends then. I started filmmaking in 2019 to expand my portfolio, but I honestly enjoy photography better.


What is your favorite part of photography?


I think my favorite part would be the connections and the people that I meet. I’ve been so lucky to have been able to go to events and photograph them and meet some amazing people!


Who is your inspiration? And what inspires you?

My inspirations are always my friends and my experiences with them. My friends will always come to me with ideas for shoots and they are my biggest inspiration.I thinks it’s important to always try to tell a story or communicate a message through your work and I try to relay my experiences with my photography.

What sort of career do you hope to study? Has photography influenced that?

I hope to become a photographer or a creative director in the future. Photography has influenced that because being able to practice and build my portfolio as much as I can.

How has your photography been recognized so far? How have you been working towards your goal?

I’ve been published in a number of zines and magazines and have been signed to an agency for my photography. I’m proud of these achievements they’ve helped me grow name recognition with photographers and brands as well

How have you been coping with quarantine? What do you do to pass time?


I’ve been learning and experimenting with new things on Photoshop and Lightroom. I’m editing my old photos and planning new shoots for when quarantines over

Any advice for teens wanting to start photography? Tips?

Practice shooting and editing whenever you can. Photograph people, landscapes, products to find which type of photography suits you. Edit them and find your style to make it easier

Any advice for teens generally?

Experience as much as you can and capture the moments too!


15 views0 comments
bottom of page