top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTJ TEAM

Interview with Saira Uttamchandani, founder of Generation Sundar


Saira Uttamchandani is a 14 years old, and loves to speak my mind. She is the founder of Generation Sundar.  She also loves to read and write.


Interview by Daania Sharifi



Could you start off by introducing yourself to the readers? Name, age, interests, and what of stuff you spend time doing. Passions etc?


My name is Saira, and I am 14 years old. I love to do public speaking, like debate and MUN. I also love to read and write. I advocate for women’s rights as well as stand up for Gen Z.


Nice to meet you Saira! Could you talk to us about co-founding Generation Sundar? How did you come up with the idea? What’s Generation Sundars mission?


Generation Sundar is an organization that I founded with my best friend to motivate girls of Generation Z.



How do Gen Z’s get involved with Generation Sundar? How can they contribute or what do they get out of Generation Sundar?



Well, Gen Zers have a few options. They can contact us and we can do a feature on them. Or, if they run an organization, we can feature the organization as a whole. The goal of this is to showcase brilliant and inspiring girls of Gen Z not only to spread awareness about them, but also encourage more girls to enter the world of advocacy. We hope showcasing young girls will help more timid girls to stand up for what they believe. Love that! Talk to us about debate and Model UN. When did you first realize you liked debating and public speaking? What is your favorite part of debate & MUN? I realized I had a love for public speaking when I entered middle school, which is when I started MUN and debate. What drew me in was the idea of researching and being able to showcase your hard work to so many others.



Who are your biggest inspirations? What inspires you about them? I would say Emma Watson and Natalie Portman, because they are smart, and pursue their passions. They also are activists! If you could ask them each one question what would you ask and why? Emma: what was it that made you decide to leave Brown for acting? What was that turning point? Natalie: what is the main reason for you going vegan? I would ask Emma that because I know she takes both education and acting seriously, and I wonder at her thought process for such a huge decision. Natalie: I am thinking about going vegan, and I am curious on what her reason was. What are some of your favorite books? What is one book you would recommend that changed your perspective on a certain topic?


My favorite books are often fantasy. Of all time, I would say the Harry Potter series. A book that has changed my perspective of 1984.  Who is your biggest supporter?

My best friend, definitely. She is always there when I need her and gives the world’s best hugs and pep talks.


How have you been coping with quarantine? What do you do to past time?

I just focus on my schoolwork and spend time with my family :)) Do you have advice for teens (social advice, school, mental health, etc)?

You really just need to find a group of people who you can trust and stick with them, because friends can solve almost anything ️ they will always be there for you.




67 views0 comments
bottom of page