top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTJ TEAM

Interview with Victoria (aka Vctraa)


Born & raised in Chicago, upcoming producer and singer Vctraa bridges the gap between electronic music and hip hop. This birthed the new wave genre called “Space Trap” that combines these elements into a mirage of groovy trance vibes. She is set to release her 2nd EP titled, “Hit the Floor” Summer 2020.


Interview by Aleena Kumandan


So, tell us about yourself.


Thank you for having me. I’m a musician from Chicago. My stage name is Vctraa, but my name is Victoria. I started producing and recording my own music about a year and a half ago, but I’ve played instruments for over 10 years.


How did you get into recording and producing music?


I was inspired by a lot of underground SoundCloud artists such as Vision4k, David Shawty, and Angst. I really loved their songs, but the music always stood out to me. I would start to try to unpack their instrumentals, I wanted to know what was happening with every instrument in the song. At a certain point, I figured that I really could record music like this on my own. Soon after that I bought Ableton and it took off from there.


To you what makes a good beat or a good producer? What a common factor in all good music?


I think a good beat is a beat that makes the listener feel an emotion and creates a vibe. A lot of people listen to music to feel something or to be brought to another place. I think a producer who is able to speak to a listener through their music has successfully done their job.The common factor in music I would say is emotion. A lot of the emotional side of music is definitely subconscious I would say.


Are there any advantages to producing and recording your own beats as opposed to having someone do it for you?


Yes! I would say that producing and recording my own music is probably one of the biggest advantages I have. When I make a beat, I’m able to create an organic vibe that I am feeling. It’s real, authentic, and it’s perfectly crafted for me.

On top of that, I write my own lyrics and arrange my own song, and make my own cover art. All of these things allow me to create a vibe that allows me to speak my emotions to my listeners through my music. It’s honestly magical.


Do you think that authenticity is important in music? What does it really mean for music to be inauthentic?


I definitely do think authenticity is important in music. I think of music as a conversation. A lot can be misconstrued if someone isn’t being honest in the conversations. For music to be inauthentic, it means that there are a lot of trying to be something you’re not, or doing things you wouldn’t normally do for clout.


Who are your biggest inspirations?


A few of my biggest inspirations are David Shawty, Night Lovell, Lil Uzi, Bommer, He$h, and Level Up


How has the quarantine affected your plans for the year?


My goal for 2020 was to start doing shows, but the Covid 19 situation has slightly delayed my plans. I’m using this time to educate myself about the local music scene and venues.


Did you always know you wanted to be a performer/ musician? How did you realize that this is what you wanted to do with your life?


I’ve known that music was going to be a big part of life since I was young. I’ve always played instruments and had a deep interest in music. It wasn’t until about 6 or 7 months ago that I realized that performing and doing shows would be something that I’d be interested in. After going to some shows of my favorite artists, I realized that being a professional musician is a very attainable goal for me.


What are the steps someone has to take to book a show?


They’ll need to put together an EPK, email booking agents for venues, reach out to promoters, engage with fans and potential fans, and rehearse as much as possible.


Do you have any advice for aspiring musicians?


Yes! I would tell them to never ever underestimate themselves. Anything goal you want to reach is attainable. You are capable of doing anything you are willing to work for. Just stick to the music and stay true. Also, don’t be afraid to reach out and ask for help or advice

128 views0 comments
bottom of page