top of page
  • Writer's pictureCTJ TEAM

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: by Jenny Lawson Review (previous blog post)

Book Review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

By: Kaitlyn Couvillon

March 31, 2019


​      ​I should start off this book review by pointing out that this book isnotfor young audiences, due to large amounts of cursing and inappropriate content. Now onto the review.

I was never really into memoirs all that much. I happened to stumble into this book somewhat by accident, but it has since become one of my favorites and I find myself coming back to the worn pages of my copy whenever I need a good laugh.


​      The author of this book, Jenny Lawson, (who also happens to be a blogger) starts off her story by recounting the time she almost burnt down her house at the age of three (which is a pretty epic opening chapter if you don’t mind me saying). She shares with the audience tales from her unconventional childhood living with her parents and sister in Wall, Texas. Lawson’s side-splitting, albeit sometimes awkward, humor never fails to keep me entertained and ripping through pages.


       Lawson tells about many things, from growing up poor, to traumatizing stories about dead squirrels and even about her father’s infatuation with armadillo racing. She brings her readers along with her on the ride that is life. She tells stories about her miscarriages and even brushes over her battle with anorexia. She shares her embarrassing school stories and even stories about her daily life. But even though I would classify this book as humor, there’s a life lesson to be learned; that even in the worst of times, family will always be right there by your side when you need them. It’s about how the aforementioned traumatizing memories are the ones that shape our lives. It’s one of those books I like to bring around with me everywhere to tell people about and let them borrow.


​      Overall this is a book I would recommend to everyone and though it’s an oldie it’s definitely a favorite.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page